Deleting shared records
Analyst's Notebook Premium enables authorized users to create and delete records in the Information Store. However, even authorized users can delete only records that they or their colleagues create, and the operation is not immediately permanent. To delete records completely, you must interact with the Information Store database.
When a user deletes a record in the Information Store through Analyst's Notebook Premium, the effect for all users is instant. The record is no longer returned in the results of search or expand operations, and copies of the record on other Analyst's Notebook charts become orphaned.
However, by default, the data for the record remains in the database until you decide to delete it permanently. The Information Store has a mechanism for removing these "soft-deleted" records that you can start on an automatic or a manual basis.
The mechanism for purging (that is, fully
deleting soft-deleted) records uses three stored
procedures from the
schema of the Information Store database.
||Permanently deletes all soft-deleted records of all types from the Information Store.|
||Sets and activates the schedule on which
soft-deleted records are automatically deleted
from the Information Store.
If you are using Db2, the parameter must be a string in UNIX® cron format. For more information, see the UNIX cron format.
If you are using SQL Server, you must use the arguments and values accepted by the sp_add_jobschedule.
||Clears and deactivates the automatic deletion schedule.|
To do its work, the purging mechanism uses the same infrastructure as the mechanism for deleting records by rule. Each manual or automated request to purge soft-deleted records from the Information Store causes a set of deletion jobs to be created. There is one job for each entity type and link type in the i2® Analyze schema, and the Db2® task scheduler or SQL Server Agent runs them at the earliest opportunity.
keeps logs of manual and automated purge
operations alongside its logs of deletion-by-rule
operations, in the Deletion_By_Rule_Log view. In that view, the
rule name for all jobs that are associated with
purging soft-deleted records is